Loading
Document Name
Sort Generated Document By
Total Credit Requested
$ 0.00
Preview
Create
Header Text
Total Credit Requested
$ 0.00
Preview
Create
Viewing:

1234 Main St.
Geneva, OH 44041
03/30/2020 9:00AM

Sample agent
agent

Agent Name

Agency Name
88
Items Inspected
11
Minor/maintenance/fyi
13
Marginal
8
Material/safety

1 - Inspection Details

General Inspection Info: Occupancy
Occupied
General Inspection Info: Weather Conditions
Cloudy, Light Rain
General Inspection Info: Type of Building
Single Family
General Inspection Info: In Attendance
Client, Client's Agent

I prefer to have my client with me during my inspection so that we can discuss concerns, thank you so much for joining me. 

General Inspection Info: Use of Photos

Your report includes many photographs. I took a approximately 224 pictures. Some pictures are intended as a courtesy and are added for your information. Some are to help clarify where the inspector has been, what was looked at, and the condition of the system or component at the time of the inspection. Some of the pictures may be of deficiencies or problem areas, these are to help you better understand what is documented in this report and may allow you to see areas or items that you normally would not see. Not all problem areas or conditions will be supported with photos.

Utility Information: FYI

I was able to find the following information for you: 

  • The Ashtabula County Health Department has no records of your well or your septic system. 
  • On January 12, 2020, I spoke to the home owner who disclosed the home is currently insured by Treen Insurance located in Jefferson, Ohio. 440-576-5926
  • On January 10, 2020, I spoke to Aaron from First Energy: 1-800-589-3101. 

The estimated monthly bill is $175.00 over the past 12 months. This includes a low-month of $71 and a high-month of $380. 

  • I verified that Waste Management is available for pickup at your address for approximately $21 per month. 866-797-9018.
  • The Ashtabula County Registered Sanitarian responsible for Harpersfield Township is Terry Palmer. I included his business card if any Septic Issues should arise. 
  • On January 13, 2020, I spoke to JCE's Water Hauling located in Concord, Ohio. 440-227-0370. They quoted $115 for a 1600 gallon water delivery to your address.
  • I also provided you with some internet/cable providers. Feel free to use these contacts as you prepare to move!

Spectrum internet/cable: 1-877-822-1296

Windstream internet/cable: 1-855-446-1939

CenturyLink internet/cable: 1-330-944-6661

2 - Copy of Agreement

Copy of Agreement

This is an Agreement between you, ------------, the undersigned Client, and us, the Inspector, pertaining to our inspection of the Property at: ----------------------.

The terms below govern this Agreement.
1. We will perform the following services: Well Inspection-----, Residential Inspection-----, for a total of ------, payable in full at/by the appointment.

2. We will perform a visual inspection of the home/building and provide you with a written report identifying the defects that we (1) observed and (2) deemed material. The report is only supplementary to the sellers disclosure.

3. CLIENT desires that INSPECTOR collect water samples from any well as set forth herein and have the sample(s) analyzed by a laboratory for certain biological and chemical contaminants.

4. INSPECTOR agrees to perform the sampling and provide CLIENT with a copy of the laboratory's results.

5. Unless otherwise inconsistent with this Agreement or not possible, INSPECTOR agrees to have the laboratory analyze each well sample for TOTAL COLIFORM. CLIENT understands that well water may contain thousands of different biological and chemical contaminants, and that the laboratory will only test for those contaminants specifically identified in this Agreement. CLIENT further understands that the results represent a snapshot of the presence of the specified contaminants in the water sample(s) at the time the sample(s) is collected, and that laboratory results do not necessarily reflect the amount of contaminants that may be present in the future. CLIENT understands that results may vary from one well to another.

6. CLIENT understands that INSPECTOR will also be performing a well flow test and interpreting those results.

7. We will perform a septic system inspection to determine if the system is functioning as designed. If we perform a septic system inspection, we will follow InterNACHIs guidelines.

8. We assume no liability for any sewer or septic system issues either current or arising in the future.

9. Unless otherwise noted in this Agreement or not possible, we will perform the inspection in accordance with the current Guidelines and/or Standards of Practice (SOP) of the International Association of Certified Home Inspectors (InterNACHI), posted at www.nachi.org/sop. If your jurisdiction has adopted mandatory standards that differ from InterNACHI's SOP, we will perform the inspection in accordance with your jurisdictions standards. You understand that InterNACHI's SOP contains limitations, exceptions, and exclusions. You understand that InterNACHI is not a party to this Agreement, has no control over us, has no control over the laboratory, and does not employ or supervise us.

10. Unless otherwise indicated in writing, we will NOT test for the presence of radon, a harmful gas. Unless otherwise indicated in writing, we will not test for mold. Unless otherwise indicated in writing, we will not test for compliance with applicable building codes or for the presence of or for any potential dangers arising from the presence of asbestos, lead paint, soil contamination, or other environmental hazards or violations. If any structure you want us to inspect is a log structure or includes log construction, you understand that such structures have unique characteristics that may make it impossible for us to inspect and evaluate them. Therefore, the scope of our inspection will not include decay of the interior of logs in log walls, log foundations or roofs, or similar defects.

11. Our inspection and report are for your use only. You give us permission to discuss our observations and laboratory analysis with real estate agents, owners, repair persons, or other interested parties. You will be the sole owner of the report and all rights to it. We are not responsible for use or misinterpretation by third parties, and third parties who rely on it in any way do so at their own risk and release us (including employees and business entities) from any liability whatsoever. If you or any person acting on your behalf provide the report to a third party who then sues you and/or us, you release us from any liability and agree to pay our costs and legal fees in defending any action naming us. Our inspection and report are in no way a guarantee or warranty, express or implied, regarding the future use, operability, habitability or suitability of the home/building or its components. We disclaim all warranties, express or implied, to the fullest extent allowed by law.

12. LIMITATION ON LIABILITY AND DAMAGES. We assume no liability for the cost of repair or replacement of unreported defects, either current or arising in the future. In all cases, our liability is limited to liquidated damages in an amount not greater than 1.5 times the fee you paid us. You waive any claim for consequential, exemplary, special or incidental damages or for the loss of the use of the home/building. You acknowledge that this liquidated damages is not a penalty, but that we intend it to: (i) reflect the fact that actual damages may be difficult or impractical to ascertain; (ii) allocate risk between us; and (iii) enable us to perform the inspection for the agreed-upon fee.

13. We do not perform engineering, architectural, plumbing, or any other job function requiring an occupational license in the jurisdiction where the property is located.

14. If you believe you have a claim against us, you agree to provide us with the following: (1) written notification of your claim within seven days of discovery, in sufficient detail and with sufficient supporting documents that we can evaluate it; and (2) immediate access to the premises. Failure to comply with these conditions releases us from liability.

15. You agree that the exclusive venue for any litigation arising out of this Agreement shall be in the county where we have our principal place of business. If you fail to prove any claim against us, you agree to pay all our legal costs, expenses and attorneys fees incurred in defending that claim. You agree that the exclusive venue for any legal action against InterNACHI itself, allegedly arising out of this Agreement or our membership in InterNACHI, will be in Boulder County, Colorado. Before bringing any such action, you must provide InterNACHI with 30 days written notice of the nature of the claim, in sufficient detail and with sufficient supporting documents that InterNACHI can evaluate it. In any action against us or InterNACHI, you waive trial by jury.

16. If a court declares any provision of this Agreement invalid, the remaining provisions remain in effect. This Agreement represents our entire agreement; there are no terms other than those set forth herein. All prior discussions are merged into this Agreement. No statement or promise by us shall be binding unless reduced to writing and signed by one of our authorized officers. Any modification of this Agreement must be in writing and signed by you and by one of our authorized officers. This Agreement shall be binding upon and enforceable by the parties and their heirs, executors, administrators, successors and assignees. You will have no cause of action against us after one year from the date of the inspection.

17. If a court finds any term of this Agreement ambiguous or requiring judicial interpretation, the court shall not construe that term against us by reason of the rule that any ambiguity in a document is construed against the party drafting it. You had the opportunity to consult qualified counsel before signing this.

18. If there is more than one Client, you are signing on behalf of all of them, and you represent that you are authorized to do so. You may not assign this Agreement.

19. If you would like a large print version of this Agreement before signing it, you may request one by emailing us.


I HAVE CAREFULLY READ THIS AGREEMENT. I AGREE TO IT AND ACKNOWLEDGE RECEIVING A COPY OF IT.

Client has accepted this agreement.

01/09/2020  7:28 pm

------------------

Refund

A flow test was unable to be performed on the well system. A refund of $50 will be provided to the client.

Correction

The agreement includes language requesting a septic inspection. A septic inspection was not performed. (See items 7 & 8 in agreement)

3 - Septic Tips

10 Steps
  • Ten simple steps you can take to keep your septic system working properly:
  1. Locate your septic tank and drainfield. Keep a drawing of these locations in your records.
  2. Have your septic system inspected at least every three years. Hire an InterNACHI inspector trained in septic inspections. 
  3. Pump your septic tank as needed (generally, every three to five years).
  4. Don't dispose of household hazardous waste in sinks or toilets.
  5. Keep other household items, such as dental floss, feminine hygiene products, condoms, diapers, and cat litter out of your system.
  6. Use water efficiently.
  7. Plant only grass over and near your septic system. Roots from nearby trees or shrubs might clog and damage the system. Also, do not apply manure or fertilizers over the drainfield.
  8. Keep vehicles and livestock off your septic system. The weight can damage the pipes and tank, and your system may not drain properly under compacted soil.
  9. Keep gutters and basement sump pumps from draining into or near your septic system.
  10. Check with your local health department before using additives. Commercial septic tank additives do not eliminate the need for periodic pumping and can be harmful to your system.

4 - Key Comments and Definitions

Comment Key - Defintions

Comment Key - Definitions

This report divides deficiencies into three categories; Material Defects (in red), Marginal Defects (in orange), and Minor Defects/Maintenance Items/FYI (colored in blue). Safety Hazards or concerns will be listed in the Red or Orange categories depending on their perceived danger, but should always be addressed immediately. 

Material Defects - is a specific issue with a system or component of a residential property that may have a significant, adverse impact on the value of the property, or that poses an unreasonable risk to people. The fact that a system or component is near, at, or beyond the end of its normal, useful life is not, in itself, a material defect. 

Marginal Defects - Items or components that were found to include a deficiency. These items may have been functional at the time of inspection, but this functionality may be impaired, not ideal, or the defect may lead to further problems. Repairs or replacement is recommended to items categorized in this manner for optimal performance and/or to avoid future problems or adverse conditions that may occur due to the defect, prior to the end of your contingency period. Items categorized in this manner typically require repairs from a Handyman or Qualified Contractor and are not considered routine maintenance or DIY repairs. 

Minor Defects/Maintenance Items/FYI - Items or components that were found to be in need of recurring or basic general maintenance and/or may need minor repairs which may improve their functionality. Also included in this section are items that were at the end of their typical service life or beginning to show signs of wear, but were in the opinion of the inspector, still functional at the time of inspection. Major repairs or replacement should be anticipated, and planned for, on any items that are designated as being past, or at the end of their typical life. These repairs or replacement costs can sometimes represent a major expense; i.e. HVAC systems, Water Heaters, etc. 

These categorizations are in my professional judgement and based on what I observed at the time of inspection. This categorization should not be construed as to mean that items designated as "Minor defects" or "Marginal Defects" do not need repairs or replacement. The recommendations in each comment is more important than its categorization. Due to your perception, opinions, or personal experience you may feel defects belong in a different category, and you should feel free to consider the importance you believe they hold during your purchasing decision. Once again it's the "Recommendations" in the text of the comment pertaining to each defect that is paramount, not its categorical placement

If your home inspector misses anything, InterNACHI will buy your home back.  


  • It's valid for home inspections performed for home buyers or sellers by participating InterNACHI members.
  • The home must be listed for sale with a licensed real estate agent.
  • The Guarantee excludes homes with material defects not present at the time of the inspection, or not required to be inspected, per InterNACHI's Residential Standards of Practice.
  • The Guarantee will be honored for 90 days after closing.
  • We'll pay you whatever price you paid for the home.
  • For more information, please visit www.nachi.org/buy.


InterNACHI is so certain of the integrity of our members that we back them up with our $10,000 Honor Guarantee. 

InterNACHI will pay up to $10,000 USD for the cost of replacement of personal property lost during an inspection and stolen by an InterNACHI-certified member who was convicted of or pleaded guilty to any criminal charge resulting from the member's taking of the client's personal property.  For details, please visit www.nachi.org/honor

5 - Referral Details

Referral Information: List of Referrals for Services

You have a few identified items that repairs or further evaluation was recommended. Feel free to utilize the provided information if you so choose. 

Some specific items were:  

1) Your chimney and wood stove be evaluated for safe and operational condition. 

2) Your flashing along your roof be installed to prevent moisture damage.

3) You have recommendations for masonry repair

4) A sump cover be installed

5) Your deck be evaluated for any possible structural issues

6 - Roof

Roof Covering: Homeowner's Responsibility

Your job as the homeowner is to monitor the roof covering because any roof can leak. To monitor a roof that is inaccessible or that cannot be walked on safely, use binoculars. Look for deteriorating or loosening of flashing, signs of damage to the roof covering and debris that can clog valleys and gutters.

Roofs are designed to be water-resistant. Roofs are not designed to be waterproof. Eventually, the roof system will leak. No one can predict when, where or how a roof will leak. 

Every roof should be inspected every year as part of a homeowner's routine home maintenance plan. Catch problems before they become major defects.


Roof Covering: Type of Roof-Covering Described
Asphalt

I observed the roof-covering material and attempted to identify its type. You have three-tab shingles that have a life expectancy of 20 years.

This inspection is not a guarantee that a roof leak in the future will not happen. Roofs leak.  Even a roof that appears to be in good, functional condition will leak under certain circumstances. We will not take responsibility for a roof leak that happens in the future.  This is not a warranty or guarantee of the roof system.

Roof Covering: Roof Was Inspected
Roof

We attempted to inspect the roof from various locations and methods, including from the ground and a ladder. 

The inspection was not an exhaustive inspection of every installation detail of the roof system according to the manufacturer's specifications or construction codes.  It is virtually impossible to detect a leak except as it is occurring or by specific water tests, which are beyond the scope of our inspection.  We recommend that you ask the sellers to disclose information about the roof, and that you include comprehensive roof coverage in your home insurance policy.  

Plumbing Vent Pipes: Homeowner's Responsibility

Your job is to monitor the flashing around the plumbing vent pipes that pass through the roof surface.  Sometimes they deteriorate and cause a roof leak.  

Be sure that the plumbing vent pipes do not get covered, either by debris, a toy, or snow.

Plumbing Vent Pipes: Plumbing Vent Pipes Inspected

I looked at DWV (drain, waste and vent) pipes that pass through the roof covering.  There should be watertight flashing (often black rubber material) installed around the vent pipes.  These plumbing vent pipes should extend far enough above the roof surface.    

Gutters & Downspouts: Homeowner's Responsibility

Your job is to monitor the gutters and be sure that they function during and after a rainstorm. Look for loose parts, sagging gutter ends, and water leaks. The rain water should be diverted far away from the house foundation.

Gutters & Downspouts: Gutters Were Inspected

I inspected the gutters.  I wasn't able to inspect every inch of every gutter.  But I attempted to check the overall general condition of the gutters during the inspection and look for indications of major defects.  

Monitoring the gutters during a heavy rain (without lightening) is recommended.  In general, the gutters should catch rain water and direct the water towards downspouts that discharge the water away from the house foundation. 

Roof Covering: Unable to See Everything

This is a visual-only inspection of the roof-covering materials. It does not include an inspection of the entire system. There are components of the roof that are not visible or accessible at all, including the underlayment, decking, fastening, flashing, age, shingle quality, manufacturer installation recommendations, etc.

Flashing: Difficult to See Every Flashing

I attempted to inspect the flashing related to the vent pipes, wall intersections, eaves and gables, and the roof-covering materials.  In general, there should be flashing installed in certain areas where the roof covering meets something else, like a vent pipe or siding.  Most flashing is not observable, because the flashing material itself is covered and hidden by the roof covering or other materials.  So, it's impossible to see everything.  A home inspection is a limited visual-only inspection.  

$
Credit
Comment
6.2.1 - Flashing

Missing Flashing

I observed areas where flashing was missing.  Not installed.  These areas of missing flashing are prone to water penetration.  Flashing is installed to provide protection against roof leaks and to divert water away from certain areas. This absence could lead to a material defect if not corrected as soon as possible. 

Roof Roofing Professional

7 - Exterior

Windows: Windows Inspected

A representative number of windows from the ground surface was inspected. 

Exterior Doors: Exterior Doors Inspected

I inspected the exterior doors. 

Homeowner's Responsibility

The exterior of your home is slowly deteriorating and aging. The sun, wind, rain and temperatures are constantly affecting it. Your job is to monitor the buildings exterior for its condition and weathertightness. 

Check the condition of all exterior materials and look for developing patterns of damage or deterioration. 

During a heavy rainstorm (without lightning), grab an umbrella and go outside. Walk around your house and look around at the roof and property. A rainstorm is the perfect time to see how the roof, downspouts and grading are performing. Observe the drainage patterns of your entire property, as well as the property of your neighbor. The ground around your house should slope away from all sides. Downspouts, surface gutters and drains should be directing water away from the foundation. 

Wall-Covering, Flashing & Trim: Type of Wall-Covering Material Described
Various Materials, Brick, Vinyl

The exterior of your home is slowly deteriorating and aging.  The sun, wind, rain and temperatures are constantly affecting it.  Your job is to monitor the house's exterior for its condition and weathertightness. 

Check the condition of all exterior wall-covering materials and look for developing patterns of damage or deterioration. 

Vegetation, Surface Drainage, Retaining Walls & Grading: Vegetation, Drainage, Walls & Grading Were Inspected

I inspected the vegetation, surface drainage, retaining walls and grading of the property, where they may adversely affect the structure due to moisture intrusion.

GFCIs & Electrical: Inspected GFCIs

I inspected ground-fault circuit interrupter receptacles and circuit breakers observed and deemed to be GFCIs using a GFCI tester, where possible.

Walkways & Driveways: Walkways & Driveways Were Inspected

I inspected the walkways and driveways that were adjacent to the house.  The walkways, driveways, and parking areas that were far away from the house foundation were not inspected. 

Stairs, Steps, Stoops, Stairways & Ramps: Stairs, Steps, Stoops, Stairways & Ramps Were Inspected

I inspected the stairs, steps, stoops, stairways and ramps that were within the scope of my home inspection. 

All treads should be level and secure. Riser heights and tread depths should be as uniform as possible. As a guide, stairs must have a maximum riser of 7-3/4 inches and a minimum tread of 10 inches. 

Porches, Patios, Decks, Balconies & Carports: Porches, Patios, Decks, Balconies & Carports Were Inspected

I inspected the porches, patios, decks, balconies and carports at the house that were within the scope of the home inspection. 

Railings, Guards & Handrails: Railings, Guards & Handrails Were Inspected

I inspected the railings, guards and handrails that were within the scope of the home inspection. 

Invisible Fence: Information

Invisible fence inspections is beyond the scope of a home inspection; however, it appears to be not operational. The wires appear to terminate in the mulch. 

On January 12, 2020, the seller disclosed that the fence is operational; however, a collar will need to be purchased from Invisible Fence if the buyer chooses to use this.

Inspection Was Restricted
Vegetation

The inspection of the exterior of the house was restricted, and the visual-only inspection was limited. 

$
Credit
Comment
7.1.1 - Wall-Covering, Flashing & Trim

Deterioration at Masonry Exterior

I observed indications of masonry deterioration  at the time of my inspection. Recommend correction. 

Brick Masonry Restoration Contractor
$
Credit
Comment
7.1.2 - Wall-Covering, Flashing & Trim

Cracking - Minor

Siding showed cracking in one or more places. Recommend monitoring. 

Tools Handyman/DIY
$
Credit
Comment
7.6.1 - Stairs, Steps, Stoops, Stairways & Ramps

Trip Hazard at Step

I observed a trip hazard at a step. This condition is a safety hazard.

Correction and further evaluation is recommended. 

Brick Masonry Restoration Contractor
$
Credit
Comment
7.8.1 - Porches, Patios, Decks, Balconies & Carports

Deteriorated Condition at Deck

I observed indications of deteriorated conditions at the deck components. Precautions should be made to cause no further damage to these areas while caring for your lawn. Recommend using products to apply and preserve the life of the wood in this area. 

Tools Handyman/DIY
$
Credit
Comment
7.8.2 - Porches, Patios, Decks, Balconies & Carports

Deck girders do not rest on posts

I observed deck girders being held together by bolts. Bolts are usually not intended to support the entire weight of the deck structure. Ledger board attached to home appears to be installed appropriately. Recommend further evaluation by a deck contractor. 

House front 1 Deck Contractor
$
Credit
Comment
7.10.1 - Windows

Missing Flashing

I observed missing flashing on exterior windows. This can lead to water intrusion and rusting of the lintels. Recommend installation. You can compare the pictures to see proper installation at your other windows. 

Window Window Repair and Installation Contractor
$
Credit
Comment
7.11.1 - Exterior Doors

Doorbell Does Not Ring

Correction and further evaluation is recommended.

Contractor Qualified Professional
$
Credit
Comment
7.11.2 - Exterior Doors

Screen Door Defect

I observed a defect at the screen door.

Correction and further evaluation is recommended.

Tools Handyman/DIY

8 - Well System Inspection

Well Head: Inspection Method
Visual Only, Non-Invasive
Well Head: Contamination Source Clearance
Good
Pressure Tank: Type
HydroPro
Pressure Tank: Condition
Fair
Storage Tank: Size
300 Gallons
Storage Tank: Condition
Fair
Electronic Control Box: Pump Level Control Box
Present
Homeowner's Responsibility: Information

Drinking water should be free of disease-causing organisms,and should not contain harmful levels of chemicals.Two standard tests— for coliform bacteria (every year) and nitrates (every three years)  — should be performed regularly on every well. Testing for other contaminants may also be advisable. 

If any coliform bacteria are detected, the well should be disinfected and sampled again. Disinfection with a chlorine solution will usually eliminate bacteria and viruses if they entered the well during construction or repair of the well — when a new pump is installed, for example. Disinfection or treatment will not provide a permanent solution if the contamination is caused by faulty well construction, a failing septic system, surface water contamination, or some other ongoing problem. In that case, it will be necessary to repair the well, construct a new well, or remove the source of contamination. 

If testing does indicate the presence of a health-related contaminant, treatment should be considered only if no other options are possible. Options may include a new well, repair of the existing well, or removal of the source of contamination. For example, the presence of coliform bacteria in the water often does not indicate that the groundwater is contaminated, but that there is a problem with well construction, operation, or maintenance, allowing surface water or contaminants to enter the well. If multiple thorough well disinfections do not solve the problem, the well probably needs to be repaired, upgraded, or replaced.

Well Head: Well Casing Size
6"
Pressure Tank: Size
20 US Gallons
Pressure Tank: Purpose

Your pressure tank has a captive air bladder or diaphragm, which holds a certain pre-charged amount of air pressure. The pressure tank increases the pressure of the well water, which typically has static (very little or no) pressure in its natural reservoir. Most pressure tanks are designed to deliver a water pressure of between 40 and 60 psi, depending on the specifics of your system, and your particular desires.

As water is pumped from the well into the pressure tank, it compresses the air in the tank until it reaches a preset level, typically the 40 to 60 pounds per square inch (psi). When someone turns on a faucet, air pressure in the tank forces water throughout the plumbing until the pressure drops to the preset trigger pressure, usually the 20 to 40 psi. That tells the water pump to turn on, and water is then drawn into the house and tank. When the faucet is shut off, pressure builds until it is restored to its default shut-off level. The amount of water delivered by the pressure tank between the time the pump shuts down and the time it starts again is called the drawdown.

Storage Tank: Information
Present
Storage Tank: Purpose

A pressure tank allows your well to deliver the same sort of water pressure as you would get from a municipal system. The pressure tank increases the pressure of the well water, which has very little pressure in its natural reservoir. Most pressure tanks are designed to deliver a water pressure of between 40 and 60 psi, depending on the specifics of your system, and your particular desires.

Flow Test: Not Performed

The flow test was unable to be performed. The cistern inputs water directly from the well. The cistern was filled with delivered water at the time of inspection.

Piping: Piping - Visible Parts Only

This is a visible, non-invasive inspection and no digging or excavation is undertaken. Inspection is limited to visible portions of the piping system, only.

Water Softener : Not Operational

The water softener was not operational. Salt and filter would be necessary. 

$
Credit
Comment
8.7.1 - Flow Test

Water Discoloration

The initial water flow in the bathtub had a brown-color water. Recommend monitoring and further evaluation if problem continues. It stopped soon after. There were no other signs of discoloration at any other faucet or toilet. If problem persists, recommend plumbing or HVAC evaluation.

Mag glass Monitor
$
Credit
Comment
8.8.1 - Total Coliform and E. Coli Lab Results

Total Coliform - Failed

The lab results of your well tested for >200.5/100 ml. 


The most basic test for bacterial contamination of a water supply is the test for total coliform bacteria. Total coliform counts give a general indication of the sanitary condition of a water supply. Total coliforms include bacteria that are found in the soil, in water that has been influenced by surface water, and in human or animal waste. 

E. coli is a type of fecal coliform bacteria commonly found in the intestines of animals and humans.  E. coli is short for Escherichia coli.  The presence of E. coli in water is a strong indication of recent sewage or animal waste contamination. Sewage may contain many types of disease-causing organisms. 

Adams Water Laboratory, is a Certified Laboratory by the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency. They have completed analysis of your well water. The report is attached and it has been noted as a safety concern. For private water wells with 25 feet of casing or greater, lab results for a 100 ml water sample shall have:

Four (4) or fewer total coliform CFUs reported as MPN
No detection of E. coli (less than 1 MPN or CFU)


Low levels of coliforms can occur naturally in ground water and will not make healthy people sick. Levels of coliform over four (4) colonies can indicate poor well construction or cleaning, or issues related to aging of the well such as the presence of holes in in the well casing. Recommend disinfectant of the well immediately and a re-testing at a certified laboratory.  

Water Well Service Contractor
$
Credit
Comment
8.8.2 - Total Coliform and E. Coli Lab Results

Discoloration of Water Sample from Well

The water sample taken from the well was discolored. Discoloration may occur for a variety of reasons. Recommended to monitor because this sample came directly from well with no filtration, and the well is unused (per the homeowner).

Mag glass Monitor

9 - Attached Garage

Garage Floor: Garage Floor Inspected

I inspected the floor of the attached garage. 

Garage Vehicle Door: Type of Door Operation
Opener
Garage Vehicle Door Opener: Garage Door Panels Were Inspected

I inspected the garage door panels. 

Garage Vehicle Door Opener: Wall Control Button Label Was Inspected

I observed a warning label near the wall control button. Good. 

Garage Vehicle Door Opener: Manual Release

I checked for a manual release handle--a means of manually detaching the door from the door opener. 

The handle should be colored red so that it can be seen easily. The handle should be easily accessible and no more than 6 feet above the garage floor. The handle should not be in contact with the top of a vehicles.

Garage Vehicle Door Opener: Spring Warning Label Was Inspected

I observed a spring warning label attached to the spring assembly or the back of the door panel. Good. 

Garage Vehicle Door Opener: General Warning Label Was Inspected

I observed a general warning label attached to the back of the door panel. Good. 

Garage Vehicle Door Opener: Bottom Bracket Label Was Inspected

I observed two warning labels attached to the door in the vicinity of the bottom corner brackets. Some newer doors have tamper-resistant bottom corner brackets that do not require these warning labels.

Garage Vehicle Door Opener: Springs, Bracket & Hardware Were Inspected

I closed the door and checked the springs for damage. If a spring was broken, operating the door can cause serious injury or death. I would not operate the door if there was damage. 

I visually checked the doors hinges, brackets and fasteners. If the door had an opener, the door must have an opener-reinforcement bracket that is securely attached to the doors top section. The header bracket of the opener rail must be securely attached to the wall or header using lag bolts or concrete anchors. 

Garage Vehicle Door Opener: Door Was Manually Opened and Closed

I closed the door. If the door had an opener, I pulled the manual release to disconnect the door from the opener. I lifted and operated the door. If the door was hard to lift, then it is out of balance. This is an unsafe condition. 

I raised the door to the fully-open position, then closed the door. The door should move freely, and it should open and close without difficulty. As the door operates, I make sure that the rollers stay in the track. The door should stay in the fully open position. The door should also stay in a partially opened position about three to four above the garage floor level. 

I reconnected the door to the opener, if present. 

I checked the door handles or gripping points.  

Garage Vehicle Door Opener: Spring Containment Was Inspected

If the door has extension springs, I inspect for spring containment. Extension springs should be contained by a cable that runs through the center of the springs. If a spring breaks, containment helps to prevent broken parts from flying around dangerously in the garage.

Garage Vehicle Door Opener: Wall Push Button Was Inspected

I inspected the wall button. The wall button should be at least 5 feet above the standing surface, and high enough to be out of reach of small children. I pressed the push button to see if it successfully operated the door.

Garage Vehicle Door Opener: Non-Contact Reversal Was Inspected

I observed the auto-reverse feature during a non-contact test. 

Standing inside the garage but safely away from the path of the door, I used the remote control or wall button to close the door. As the door was closing, I waved an object in the path of the photoelectric eye beam. The door should automatically reverse.

Garage Vehicle Door Opener: Photo-Electric Eyes Were Inspected

I inspected the photo-electric eyes. 

Federal law states that residential garage door openers manufactured after 1992 must be equipped with photo-electric eyes or some other safety-reverse feature that meets UL 325 standards.

I checked to see if photo-electric eyes are installed. The vertical distance between the photo-eye beam and the floor should be no more than 6 inches.

Ceiling, Walls & Firewalls in Garage: Garage Ceiling & Walls Were Inspected

I inspected the ceiling and walls of the garage according to the Home Inspection Standards of Practice.

Ceiling, Walls & Firewalls in Garage: Can't See Everything

I can not observe everything. Inspection restrictions. My inspection was limited. 

$
Credit
Comment
9.3.1 - Garage Vehicle Door Opener

Defect at Warning Label

There is a defect at a warning label. 

The garage door should have the following warning labels:

  1. a spring warning label attached to the spring assembly or the back of the door panel; 
  2. a general warning label attached to the back of the door panel;
  3. a warning label near the wall control button; and
  4. two warning labels attached to the door in the vicinity of the bottom corner brackets. Some newer doors have tamper-resistant bottom corner brackets that do not require these warning labels.
Contractor Qualified Professional
$
Credit
Comment
9.3.2 - Garage Vehicle Door Opener

Photo-Electric Eyes Not Present

I observed that the photo-electric eyes were not installed on the right garage door. 

This is a safety issue.

Garage Garage Door Contractor

10 - Plumbing

Main Water Shut-Off Valve: Location of Main Shut-Off Valve
Basement, Laundry room
Hot Water Source: Inspected TPR Valve

I inspected the temperature and pressure relief valve.  

Main Water Shut-Off Valve: Homeowner's Responsibility

It's your job to know where the main water and fuel shutoff valves are located. And be sure to keep an eye out for any water and plumbing leaks. 

Water Supply : Water Supply Is Private

The water supply to the house appeared to be from a private water supply source based upon the observed indications at the time of the inspection.  To confirm and be certain, I recommend asking the homeowner for details. 

Hot Water Source: Type of Hot Water Source
Electric Hot Water Tank

I inspected for the main source of the distributed hot water to the plumbing fixtures (sinks, tubs, showers).  I recommend asking the homeowner for details about the hot water equipment and past performance. 

Hot Water Source: Inspected Hot Water Source

I inspected the hot water source and equipment according to the Home Inspection Standards of Practice


Your hot water tank was manufactured in 2003. They have a life expectancy of 6 to 12 years. 

Drain, Waste, & Vent Systems: Inspected Drain, Waste, Vent Pipes

I attempted to inspect the drain, waste, and vent pipes.  Not all of the pipes and components were accessible and observed.  Inspection restriction.  Ask the homeowner about water and sewer leaks or blockages in the past.  

Water Supply & Distribution Systems: Inspected Water Supply & Distribution Pipes

I attempted to inspect the water supply and distribution pipes (plumbing pipes). Not all of the pipes and components were accessible and observed. Inspection restriction. Ask the homeowner about water supply, problems with water supply, and water leaks in the past.  

Drain, Waste, & Vent Systems: Not All Pipes Were Inspected

The inspection was restricted because not all of the pipes were exposed, readily accessible, and observed.  For example, most of the drainage pipes were hidden within the walls.  

Water Supply & Distribution Systems: Not All Pipes Were Inspected

The inspection was restricted because not all of the water supply pipes were exposed, readily accessible, and observed.  For example, most of the water distribution pipes, valves and connections were hidden within the walls.  

11 - Attic, Insulation & Ventilation

Insulation in Attic: Type of Insulation Observed
Fiberglass
Structural Components & Observations in Attic: Structural Components Were Inspected

Structural components were inspected from the attic space according to the Home Inspection Standards of Practice

Structural Components & Observations in Attic: Structural Components Were Inspected

Structural components were inspected from the attic space according to the Home Inspection Standards of Practice

Insulation in Attic: Insulation Was Inspected

During the home inspection, I inspected for insulation in unfinished spaces, including attics, crawlspaces and foundation areas.  I inspected for ventilation of unfinished spaces, including attics, crawlspaces and foundation areas.  And I inspected mechanical exhaust systems in the kitchen, bathrooms and laundry area.

I attempted to describe the type of insulation observed and the approximate average depth of insulation observed at the unfinished attic floor area or roof structure.

I reported as in need of correction the general absence of insulation or ventilation in unfinished spaces.


Insulation in Attic: Approximate Average Depth of Insulation
6-9 inches

Determining how much insulation should be installed in a house depends upon where a home is located. The amount of insulation that should be installed at a particular area of a house is dependent upon which climate zone the house is located and the local building codes.  

Ventilation in Attic: Ventilation Inspected

During the home inspection, I inspected for ventilation in unfinished spaces, including attics, crawlspaces and foundation areas. And I inspected for mechanical exhaust systems. 

I report as in need of correction the general absence of ventilation in unfinished spaces.

$
Credit
Comment
11.2.1 - Structural Components & Observations in Attic

Pest Observation

I observed the presence of pest killer and old bee hives. Recommend monitoring.

Mag glass Monitor
$
Credit
Comment
11.4.1 - Ventilation in Attic

Improper Ventilation

I observed ventilation that terminated in the attic. This was only one unit. All other terminations appear to ventilate to the exterior of the home. Terminations in the attic lead to moisture buildup. I recommend having this vent terminate to the exterior of the home. 

Contractor Qualified Professional

12 - Doors, Windows & Interior

Doors: Doors Inspected

I inspected a representative number of doors according to the Home Inspection Standards of Practice by opening and closing them. I did not operate door locks and door stops, which is beyond the scope of a home inspection. 


Windows: Windows Inspected

I inspected a representative number of windows according to the Home Inspection Standards of Practice by opening and closing them. I did not operate window locks and operation features, which is beyond the scope of a home inspection.

Switches, Fixtures & Receptacles: Inspected a Switches, Fixtures & Receptacles

I inspected a representative number of switches, lighting fixtures and receptacles. 

Floors, Walls, Ceilings: Floors, Walls, Ceilings Inspected

I inspected the readily visible surfaces of floors, walls and ceilings. I looked for material defects according to the Home Inspection Standards of Practice.

Stairs, Steps, Stoops, Stairways & Ramps: Stairs, Steps, Stoops, Stairways & Ramps Were Inspected

I inspected the stairs, steps, stoops, stairways and ramps that were within the scope of my home inspection. 

All treads should be level and secure. Riser heights and tread depths should be as uniform as possible. As a guide, stairs must have a maximum riser of 7-3/4 inches and a minimum tread of 10 inches. 

Railings, Guards & Handrails: Railings, Guards & Handrails Were Inspected

I inspected a representative number railings, guards and handrails that were within the scope of the home inspection.

Presence of Smoke and CO Detectors: Inspected for Presence of Smoke and CO Detectors

I inspected for the presence of smoke and carbon-monoxide detectors. Both smoke detectors worked on January 12, 2020. 

There should be a smoke detector in every sleeping room, outside of every sleeping room, and one every level of a house. 

$
Credit
Comment
12.2.1 - Windows

Fogged / Broken Seals

I observed more than one fogged windows and broken seals that caused condensation between window panes. 

Window Window Repair and Installation Contractor
$
Credit
Comment
12.4.1 - Floors, Walls, Ceilings

Minor Crack

Minor crack at the window in bedroom. The crack is straight and may be improper drywall installation. There were no other observed cracks in the home. Although cracks near windows may indicate settling issues, I recommend monitoring at this time for further evaluation. 

Mag glass Monitor
$
Credit
Comment
12.6.1 - Railings, Guards & Handrails

Loose Railing Component

I observed a loose railing component.  This condition is a safety hazard.

Correction and further evaluation is recommended. 

Wrenches Handyman

13 - Bathrooms

Bathroom Toilets: Toilets Inspected

I flushed all of the toilets. 

Heat Source in Bathroom: Heat Source in Bathroom Was Inspected

I inspected the heat source in the bathroom (register/baseboard). 

Sinks, Tubs & Showers: Ran Water at Sinks, Tubs & Showers

I ran water at all bathroom sinks, bathtubs, and showers. I inspected for deficiencies in the water supply by viewing the functional flow in two fixtures operated simultaneously.

Bathroom Exhaust Fan / Window: Inspected Bath Exhaust Fans

I inspected the exhaust fans of the bathroom(s). All mechanical exhaust fans should terminate outside. Confirming that the fan exhausts outside is beyond the scope of a home inspection.

GFCI & Electric in Bathroom: GFCI-Protection Tested

I inspected the GFCI-protection at the receptacle near the bathroom sink by pushing the test button at the GFCI device or using a GFCI testing instrument. 

All receptacles in the bathroom must be GFCI protected. 

$
Credit
Comment
13.2.1 - Sinks, Tubs & Showers

Inadequate Water Flow at Fixture

I observed indications of a defect in the water supply by viewing the functional flow in two fixtures operated simultaneously. The flow was not as strong as expected. 

Pipes Plumbing Contractor

14 - Kitchen

Kitchen Sink: Ran Water at Kitchen Sink

I ran water at the kitchen sink. 

Countertops & Cabinets: Inspected Cabinets & Countertops

I inspected a representative number of cabinets and countertop surfaces. 

Exhaust Fan: Inspected Exhaust Fan

I inspected the exhaust fan in the kitchen. 

GFCI: GFCI Tested

I observed ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI) protection in the kitchen. 

Floors, Walls, Ceilings: Floors, Walls, Ceilings Inspected

I inspected the readily visible surfaces of floors, walls and ceilings. I looked for material defects according to the Home Inspection Standards of Practice

$
Credit
Comment
14.1.1 - Kitchen Sink

Defect at Sink Fixture

I observed a defect at the kitchen sink fixture. 

Wrench DIY
$
Credit
Comment
14.5.1 - Exhaust Fan

Fan Did Not Turn On

I observed that the kitchen exhaust fan did not turn on as expected. 

Wrenches Handyman

15 - Laundry

Clothes Washer: Did Not Inspect

I did not inspect the clothes washer and dryer fully. These appliances are beyond the scope of a home inspection. I did not operate the appliances. The clothes dryer exhaust pipe must be inspected and cleaned every year to help prevent house fires.

$
Credit
Comment
15.2.1 - Clothes Dryer

Defect at Dryer Exhaust Pipe

I observed indications of a defect at the clothes dryer. The dryer vent can only be 25 feet in length. Every 90 degree angle reduces this by five feet. The vent here has too many angles and they are unnecessary. There are an estimated four 90 degree angles. Two seen here, one as it enters to go outside, and one as the vent exits the dryer itself. This would mean the vent hose can only be five foot long. Recommend correction as this is a fire hazard.

Wash Appliance Repair
$
Credit
Comment
15.4.1 - Fire Extinguishers

Need Replaced

I observed a fire extinguisher that needed recharged. Recommend replacement. 

16 - Basement, Foundation, Crawlspace & Structure

Basement: Type of Basement Foundation Described
Masonry Block
Insulation in Foundation/Basement Area: Type of Insulation Observed
Fiberglass
Basement: Homeowner's Responsibility

One of the most common problems in a house is a wet basement or foundation. You should monitor the walls and floors for signs of water penetration, such as dampness, water stains, peeling paint, efflorescence, and rust on exposed metal parts. In a finished basement, look for rotted or warped wood paneling and doors, loose floor tiles, and mildew stains. It may come through the walls or cracks in the floor, or from backed-up floor drains, leaky plumbing lines, or a clogged air-conditioner condensate line.

Basement: Basement Was Inspected

The basement was inspected according to the Home Inspection Standards of Practice

The basement can be a revealing area in the house and often provides a general picture of how the entire structure works. In most basements, the structure is exposed overhead, as are the HVAC distribution system, plumbing supply and DWV lines, and the electrical branch-circuit wiring. I inspected those systems and components were readily accessible. 

Insulation in Foundation/Basement Area: Insulation Was Inspected

During the home inspection, I inspected for insulation in unfinished spaces, including attics, crawlspaces and foundation areas.  I inspected for ventilation of unfinished spaces, including attics, crawlspaces and foundation areas.  And I inspected mechanical exhaust systems in the kitchen, bathrooms and laundry area.

I attempted to describe the type of insulation observed and the approximate average depth of insulation observed at the unfinished attic floor area or roof structure.

I reported as in need of correction the general absence of insulation or ventilation in unfinished spaces.

Insulation in Foundation/Basement Area: Approximate Average Depth of Insulation
missing insulation, insulation thickness varied greatly

Determining how much insulation should be installed in a house depends upon where a home is located.   proper amount of insulation should be installed at a particular area of a house is dependent upon which climate zone the house is located. 

This house is located in a climate zone that requires an R-value of 10.

Ventilation in Foundation/Basement Area not inspected.

Sump Pump: Sump Pump Lid is Sealed Shut

The sump pump was restricted for the inspection.

$
Credit
Comment
16.4.1 - Sump Pump

Sump Cover

I observed an open sump. This is a safety hazard for an animal or child. I recommend installation of a guard for safety. 

Contractor Qualified Professional

17 - Electrical

Electrical Wiring: Type of Wiring, If Visible
Not readily accessible
Main Service Disconnect: Inspected Main Service Disconnect

I inspected the electrical main service disconnect.

Service Grounding & Bonding: Inspected the Service Grounding & Bonding

I inspected the electrical service grounding and bonding.

Electric Meter & Base: Inspected the Electric Meter & Base

I inspected the electrical electric meter and base. 

Service-Entrance Conductors: Inspected Service-Entrance Conductors

I inspected the electrical service-entrance conductors. 

Main Service Disconnect: Homeowner's Responsibility

It's your job to know where the main electrical panel is located, including the main service disconnect that turns everything off. 

Be sure to test your GFCIs, AFCIs, and smoke detectors regularly. You can replace light bulbs, but more than that, you ought to hire an electrician. Electrical work is hazardous and mistakes can be fatal. Hire a professional whenever there's an electrical problem in your house. 

Main Service Disconnect: Main Disconnect Rating, If Labeled
200

I observed indications of the main service disconnect's amperage rating. It was labeled. 

Panelboards & Breakers: Inspected Main Panelboard & Breakers

I inspected the electrical panelboards and over-current protection devices (circuit breakers and fuses). 

Panelboards & Breakers: Inspected Subpanel & Breakers

I inspected the electrical subpanel and over-current protection devices (circuit breakers and fuses). 

GFCIs: Inspected GFCIs

I inspected ground-fault circuit interrupter receptacles and circuit breakers observed and deemed to be GFCIs using a GFCI tester, where possible.

Electrical Wiring: Unable to Inspect All of the Wiring

I was unable to inspect all of the electrical wiring. Obviously, most of the wiring is hidden from view within walls. Beyond the scope of a visual home inspection. 

18 - Heating

Heating System Information: Energy Source
Electric
Heating System Information: Heating Method
Electric Baseboard System
Thermostat and Normal Operating Controls: Thermostat Location
Multiple locations
Heating System Information: Homeowner's Responsibility

Most HVAC (heating, ventilating and air-conditioning) systems in houses are relatively simple in design and operation. They consist of four components: controls, fuel supply, heating or cooling unit, and distribution system. The adequacy of heating and cooling is often quite subjective and depends upon occupant perceptions that are affected by the distribution of air, the location of return-air vents, air velocity, the sound of the system in operation, and similar characteristics. 

It's your job to get the HVAC system inspected and serviced every year. And if you're system as an air filter, be sure to keep that filter cleaned. 

On January 12, 2020, the homeowner explained that the thermostat in the dining room area is not functional. It used to provide service to a radiator that is no longer there. That radiator was located where the sliding glass door is now located.

19 - Chimney, Fireplace, or Stove

Masonry Chimney: Masonry Chimney Exterior Was Inspected

The chimney exterior was inspected during my home inspection.

Masonry Chimney: Masonry Chimney Flashing Was Inspected

I inspected for flashing installed at the chimney. 

Flashing is installed in areas where the chimney stack meets another system or component of the house.  And the flashing is supposed to divert water away from those areas to prevent water intrusion.

Masonry Chimney: Chimney Interior is Beyond the Scope

Inspecting the chimney interior and flue is beyond the scope of a home inspection.  An inspector is not required to inspect the flue or vent system, and is not required to inspect the interior of chimneys or flues, fire doors or screens, seals or gaskets, or mantels.  Out of courtesy only, the inspector may take a look at readily accessible and visible parts of the chimney flue.  

$
Credit
Comment
19.1.1 - Masonry Chimney

Crowned Cap Was Damaged


I observed indications of damage at the chimney wash or crowned cap. This is the top of the chimney that is shaped or "crowned" to divert water away from the top of the chimney stack. 

If a wash or crown on top of the chimney is not properly sloped or is extensively cracked, defective, spalled, or displays rust stains, it should be replaced. Sheet metal caps/crowns with minor rust or corrosion should be repaired, but if rust or corrosion is extensive, replacement is recommended. 

Fireplace Chimney Repair Contractor
$
Credit
Comment
19.1.2 - Masonry Chimney

Loose Interior and Corrosion of Flue Liner

I observed indications of loose interior and excessive corrosion of the flue liner.  

Recommend further evaluation. 

Fireplace Chimney Repair Contractor
$
Credit
Comment
19.1.3 - Masonry Chimney

Chimney Clean Out defect

The chimney clean out handle has deteriorated an was unable to be opened without causing more damage. An inoperable clean out is a safety concern. Recommend correction. 

Fireplace Chimney Repair Contractor
$
Credit
Comment
19.1.4 - Masonry Chimney

Sealant present on masonry chimney

I observed sealant on the masonry chimney. Sealant is used to prevent moisture intrusion. Masonry chimneys should have the masonry repaired rather than sealed. Recommend correction. 

Brick Masonry Restoration Contractor
$
Credit
Comment
19.2.1 - Wood-Burning Stove

Defect at Stove

I observed a defect at the stove. There appears to be combustable material being used at an improper place. This is a safety concern.

Fireplace Chimney Repair Contractor
$
Credit
Comment
19.2.2 - Wood-Burning Stove

Clearance

A wood stove should be installed per the manufacturers instructions. Some insurance companies may take issue with clearance requirements of the wood stove. Advised to: 

1) Have a fireplace and chimney professional complete an inspection verifying the stove and fireplace are safe and operational. 

Fire Fireplace Contractor
$
Credit
Comment
19.2.3 - Wood-Burning Stove

Cleaning Recommended

The chimney should be cleaned on an annual basis. Recommend cleaning from a qualified professional. 

Contractor Qualified Professional